Prey by Michael Crichton

“But then, things never turn out the way you think they will.”

My first encounter with a sci-fi novel and it turned out to be a fortunate one. I’m extremely happy that Crichton (for all those who don’t know him, he is the one who wrote, “Jurassic Park” and “Disclosure“) made my sci-fi reading journey so streamlined and unforgettable. This novel, “Prey”, transports you to the world of, computers, science, experiments and nanotechnology.Β Book

Being from a non-science background, I was not very comfortable with the idea of reading a sci-fi initially but fortunately enough I took this audacious decision and I’m glad I read it. The brilliant narrative strategy that Crichton adopts is his way of simplifying scientific/technological things that you do not need a solid science background to grasp them. And this is what makes you admire his writing style.

Buy this novel now! Click here!

“Prey”, although begins with a plot about questioning fidelity between a husband, Jack & his wife, Julia but takes a turn so unpredictably terrifying that this novel becomes an ‘un-put-downable’. Jack has invented a ‘Pred-Prey’ programme which is based on the module of how a predator preys upon his food. Taking this programme as a basis, certain scientists, including Jack’s wife Julia, create a swarm of micro-robots which would then be given for serving in military services. These micro-robots will help in spying on the enemy because of their characteristic that they can combine themselves to form a camera and after that, can scatter into tiny dust particles (I know, the plot sounds amazing, right?!)

Buy this novel now! Click here!

This nanotechnology experiment becomes hazardous when a swarm of these micro-robots escape the lab, whether due to a deliberate action on the part of some scientist or due to a mistake (is something I won’t be spilling in this review :p) and then, become extremely dangerous to human lives. This swarm is self-reproducing, it eats human flesh and can beat the hell out of you till you die by cutting off your oxygen supply.

Buy this novel now! Click here!

Now, how this nanotechnology proves to be a fatal one for Jack and Julia’s relationship and for humanity at large, is something that you’ll have to buy & read this novel to know! So, no matter whether you are a sci-fi fan or not, this novel has something to teach everyone πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Prey by Michael Crichton

    1. I haven’t read it yet (Just watched its movie) but after reading, “Prey” I can say Crichton is one of my favourite authors now πŸ˜€

      Glad to meet another Crichton fan. And, please read this novel, I can assure you, you will want to expand your top favourite novels list πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will add it to my list for sure. I absolutely love the movie Jurassic Park, they did a wonderful job with the screenplay. The book however, is more detailed (on the science behind cloning), and a fantastic read. I’ve read it three times, it’s been a few years now, I will probably pick it up again. Cheers!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

