The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – By Stieg Larsson

Review Time πŸ˜€

“Everyone has secrets…it’s just a matter of finding out what they are”, this true-to-the-core phrase, printed on the cover of this book, is exactly what this book explores throughout. “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”, is the first book of the millennium trilogy, written by the spectacular author, Stieg Larsson. This is the only trilogy that Larsson wrote and denied us the pleasure of reading more of his works because of his early death. It feels very unfortunate when we lose such precious authors to the God.

So, coming back to the review of this book, I would say it is a perfectly pieced murder-mystery narrative, dealing mainly with incest, psychopathology and sadism. The plot revolves around the industrialist Henrik Vanger’s obsession with finding the murderer of his grand-daughter Harriet and is sure, that the murderer is none other than someone from his own family. The frame of the plot is very simple – somebody had killed Harriet and there is a lookout for the murderer. Now, the twisted part comes in when we get to know that it’s been 40 years to the killing (even her body could not be found) and someone sends a pressed flower frame, every year, on the occasion of Henrik’s birthday. Sending a pressed flower frame is like a ritual that Harriet used to do before her disappearance. So, it is quite clear that, definitely, the murderer is some family member who knows about this ritual but the question arises who could it be?

So, this is the basic plot and then, we meet Mikael Blomkovist, a financial journalist, who is entangled in his own plot. He had a wrong story published about some big tycoon and is, now, facing charges for defamation. Mikael is our protagonist, in future, he is appointed by Vanger to find out who killed Harriet. Now, this is what I loved about Larsson’s narrative, he makes a journalist to be the crime-solver of this nearly-impossible-to-solve case. Usually, in other crime-mystery narratives, we see that a detective or a police inspector is on the lookout for the killer but here a journalist is hired to do so.

Since, Larsson himself was a journalist, so, this book completely justifies that there is no better detective/investigator than a journalist. And, you will love Blomkovist for being an extremely relatable investigator. He won’t behave extraordinarily, like Sherlock or someone with super powers, his mind works exactly like you and me. He would commit mistakes, jump onto wrong conclusions and you would feel lethargic when he would feel so. This is why I loved Larsson’s characterization because his characters are with similar daily life problems like we do. Next is the character of Lisbeth Salander (she is the girl with the dragon tattoo) who is a psychologically problem adult. She has a very unique personality, especially on the physical front (spikes, tattoos, piercings). But she is a brilliant computer hacker and it is with her aid that Blomkovist is able to solve the crime.

Undoubtedly, I would recommend this novel for sure and there are 2 more in the trilogy which I would try to get hands on asap. The story is so engaging that you will find your fingers denying to let go of this novel!

I am not spilling any beans because I want you guys to read it and get the savory taste it offers for yourself☺

21 thoughts on “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – By Stieg Larsson

    1. I have not read this one but I read “The Kite Runner” that too a long time back πŸ˜› I will have to reread it to review it in the future πŸ˜› Anyways, happy reading ❀ Will wait for its review by you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hehe ikr! Sometimes it becomes extremely difficult to express!
        OMG, this is such a difficult question. I can’t decide, really, I think every author puts in their best possible efforts in their novels. I can only say that crime-mystery is my fav genre πŸ™ˆ

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve seen all the movies, but you’ve reminded me I only ever read the first book – time to rectify that! And if you loved it this much, I’d recommend both the original and remake of the movies – I thought both were good, and the differences were interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe :p high five for being the “only first book reader”. And tysm sweety for telling me about the movies. I am really looking forward to watch them (but before that I’ll try my best to read the other 2 parts)
      I also enjoy spotting the differences between old movies and their remakes. I seriously hope that both versions must have done justice to Larsson’s writing. Especially, I have some serious hopes from Flincher (I saw his Gone Girl and it was amazing)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

